LAUREUS SPORTS AWARDS 2014 @Istana Budaya Kuala Lumpur on the 26th of March

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an annual award ceremony honoring remarkable individuals from the world of sports along with the greatest sporting achievements throughout the year. It was established in 1999 by founding patrons Daimler and Richemont and is supported by its global partners Mercedes-Benz and IWC Schaffhausen. The first gala was held on May 25, 2000 in Monte Carlo.

The names of the six nominees for the Laureus World Sportsman, Sportswoman, Team, Breakthrough, Comeback and Action Sports Awards come from the votes of the Laureus Media Selection Panel. This exclusive panel consists of leading sports editors, writers, broadcasters and online journalists from around the world. The Nominees for the Laureus World Sportsperson with a Disability Award are chosen by a specialist panel. The members of the Laureus World Sports Academy vote by secret ballot to select the winners in all seven categories.

The Laureus World Sports Awards is widely considered the Oscars of sports.

This year the Laureus Awards will be held here in Malaysia on the 26th of March at Istana Budaya, Kuala Lumpur. The host for this years awards will be Benedict Cumberbatch (Actor/Producer), who is well known for his role in Sherlock the tv series as Sherlock Holmes and numerous movies such as Star Trek and The Hobbit. The musical guest will be Jamie Foxx(Actor/Musician). Presenters and other guests include David Bekham, Victoria Bekham, Michael Douglas, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Eva Longoria, Kevin SPacey, Serena Williams, Michael Phelps and Sebastian Vettel among others. more info on who is going to be there, here!

Laureus World Sports Awards 2014 Nominations


Laureus Award

This years nominees are:

LAUREUS WORLD SPORTSMAN OF THE YEAR NOMINEES: Usain Bolt (Jamaica,athletics), Mo Farah (United Kingdom, Athletics), Lebron James (United States, Basketball), Rafael Nadal (Spain, Tennis), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Football) and Sebastian Vettel (Germany, Motor Racing).

LAUREUS WORLD SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR NOMINEES: Nadine Angerer (Germany, Football), Missy Franklin (United States, Swimming), Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica, Athletics), Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia, Athletics), Tina Maze (Slovenia, Skiing) and Serena Williams (United States, Tennis)

LAUREUS WORLD TEAM OF THE YEAR NOMINEES: All Blacks (New Zealand, Rugby), Bayern Munich (Germany, Football), Brazil Mens Football Team (Brazil, Football), Bob and Mike Bryan (United States, Tennis), Miami Heat (United Sates, Basketball) and Red Bull Formula One Team (Austria, Motor Racing)

LAUREUS WORLD COMEBACK OF THE YEAR NOMINEES: Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia, Athletics), Rafael Nadal (Spain, Tennis), Oracle Team USA (United States, Sailing), Tony Parker (France, Basketball), Ronaldhino (Brazil, Football) and Tiger Woods (United States, Golf).

LAUREUS WORLD BREAKTHROUGH OF THE YEAR NOMINEES: Afghanistan Cricket Tam (Afghanistan, Cricket), Marc Marquez (Spain, Motor Cycling), Raphael Holzdeppe (Germany, Athletics), Nairo Quintana (Colombia, Cycling), Justin Rose (United Kingdom, Golf) and Adam Scott (Australia, Golf).

LAUREUS WORLD ACTION SPORTSPERSON OF THE YEAR NOMINEES: Jamie Bestwick (United Kingdom, BMX), Bob Burnquist (Brazil, Skateboarding), Mick Fanning (Australia, Surfing), John John Florence (United States, Surfing), Maya Gabeira (Brazil, Surfing) and Shaun White (United States, Snowboarding).

LAUREUS WORLD SPORTSPERSON OF THE YEAR WITH A DISABILITY – NOMINEES: Marie Bochet (France, Skiing), Marcel Hug (Switzerland, Wheelchair Racing), Tatyana McFadden (United States, Wheelchair Racing), Sophie Pascoe (New Zealand, Swimming), Sarah Louise Rung (Norway, Swimmimg) and Olga Sviderska (Ukraine, Swimming)

 It will be a big event on the 26th, cant wait to be there…..

 For more information please visit LAUREUS 




Leave a Reply